Conference 2011

Rhythm Changes:
Jazz and National Identities Conference 2011
1-4 September 2011, Amsterdam

TheA?first Rhythm ChangesA?ConferenceA?will take place in September 2011 and will be hostedA?in partnership withA?the Conservatory of Amsterdam.A? The three-day Conference will explore the themeA?of ‘Jazz and National Identities’ and will include presentations fromA?an international line up of jazz researchers.

Opening Concert Bimhuis

The Conference will open with a welcome reception and double-concert in the legendary Bimhuis, Thursday September 1.

The concert opens with Tin Men and the Telephone, one of the hippest, hottest bands out of the Conservatory of Amsterdam.

It continues with the top-notch Dutch improv quartetA?MOORE/JANSSEN/GLERUM/JANSSEN/VAN GEEL – withA?Michael Moore (reeds), Oene van Geel (viola), Guus Janssen (piano), Ernst Glerum (bass), and Wim Janssen (drums).

Keynote Speakers
Professor Bruce Johnson (Universities of Macquarie, Turku and Glasgow)
Professor Ronald Radano (University of Wisconsin-Madison)

Conference outline

Throughout its history, jazz has played an important part in discourses about national identity, politics and cultural value; indeed, the music continues to play a complex role in the cultural life of nations worldwide. Within this context, jazz is an ideal cultural form from which to explore a number of critical questions bound up with national identity, from the development of national sounds and ensembles to the politics of migration and race, from the impact of globalisation and the hybridisation of musical styles to the creation of social institutions and distinct communities, from jazza??s shifting aesthetic status from popular to canonical a??arta?? music.

Jazz has developed in a range of national settings through different influences and interactions, so is ideally placed to explore wider issues surrounding identity and inheritance, enabling unique perspectives on how culture is exchanged, adopted and transformed.

Conference Committee

Nicholas Gebhardt (University of Lancaster)
George McKay (University of Salford)
Walter van de Leur (Conservatory of Amsterdam and University of Amsterdam)
Loes Rusch (University of Amsterdam)
Tony Whyton (University of Salford).

This page has the following sub pages.

3 responses so far